Friends Programs
AMP Concerts 2020 Summer Reading Book Sales Bookshop

AMP Concerts

2020 Summer Reading

Book Sales

Bookshop

Buy Books and More

9/14/2020 COVID-19 Update

The bookshop is open and book sales have resumed. Details on new days and hours below.

Main Library Bookshop

The Main Library Bookshop, operated by the Friends of the Public Library, is located on the Lower Level of the Main Library at 501 Copper NW. The bookshop features a large selection of current releases, plus DVDs, and CDs (audio books and music).

  • 100% donated gently-used books and media. New inventory daily, most 80%-90% off cover price.
  • Accept cash, checks, and credit cards (VISA, MasterCard and Discover).
  • 10% discount to members of Friends of the Public Library.
  • Two-hour validated parking available in parking structure kitty-corner to library.
  • In space leased from the Friends, sandwiches, soups, salads, homemade cookies, and drinks are now available for takeout at Al's Big Dipper, Monday - Friday, 10:00 am - 3:00 pm.

Bookshop Hours & Phone Number

  • For now, Monday - Friday, 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
  • 4-person limit
  • Closed on Library holidays plus Memorial and Labor Day weekends
  • Bookshop phone number: (505) 768-5123

Twice A Week Book Sales

In place of our customary monthly book sales, come to the 2020 Twice a Week Book Sales. Twice a week! Over 25,000 items for sale at reasonable prices, most discounted 80% to 90%. Paperbacks are just 25 cents each. Also find bargain prices on used CDs, DVDs, and records. Do wear masks. Social distancing and limited occupancy, of course. Spaced seating in adjacent auditorium, if needed, for those awaiting admittance.

  • Main Library Activity Room, Lower Level
  • Tuesdays and Fridays, 11:00 am – 3:00 pm
  • 16-person limit
  • Free admission
  • Two-hour validated parking available in parking structure kitty-corner from library
  • Limited appointments are available on Wednesdays, 11:00 am - 3:00 pm. Call (505) 768-5167 to schedule.
  • Scanning books will only be allowed on Wednesdays.

Can’t carry all those great buys? Take your selections to the Book Hold and don’t touch your purchases again until you pick them up in your car at the library door in the North Alley. (You will be given a tally slip to complete your purchases.)

Cash, checks, and credit cards accepted. If you are not a member of Friends of the Public Library, you may join as you check out.

Fiction to Go

Now you can purchase gently used fiction titles at these 10 branch libraries:

  • Cherry Hills
  • East Mountain
  • Erna Fergusson
  • Juan Tabo
  • Lomas Tramway
  • Los Griegos
  • North Valley
  • South Valley
  • Taylor Ranch
  • Tony Hillerman

$2 for each hardback and trade paperbacks, $1 for mass-market paperbacks.

2020 Twice A Week Book Sales

Tuesday, June 30
Friday, July 3
Tuesday, July 7
Friday, July 10
Tuesday, July 14
Friday, July 17
Tuesday, July 21
Friday, July 24
Tuesday, July 28
Friday, July 31
Tuesday, August 4
Friday, August 7
Tuesday, August 11
Friday, August 14
Tuesday, August 18
Friday, August 21
Tuesday, August 25
Friday, August 28
Tuesday, September 1
Friday, September 4
Tuesday, September 8
Friday, September 11
Tuesday, September15
Friday, September 18
Tuesday, September 22